CIPR Elections 2020 - Results

The CIPR Returning Officer, Martin Turner Found.Chart.PR, MCIPR, has declared the result of the CIPR Election 2020.

  • President-Elect for 2021 - Rachel Roberts Chart.PR, MCIPR

The following will serve on the CIPR Council from 2021-23:

For the Sector Groups: 

  • Jonathan Baggs, STEM Group
  • Donna Castle, Public Affairs Group
  • Dan Gerrella, Construction & Property Group 
  • Fiona Hatton, Inside Group 
  • Katie Marlow, Inside Group 
  • Kerry Sheehan, Local Public Services Group 
  • Abha Thakor, Local Public Services Group 
  • Alison Tobin, Education & Skills Group 

For the UK Nations and Regions, one seat was contested in Wales. The following candidate was elected:

  • John Wilkinson

For the UK Nations and Regions (elected unopposed):

  • Lesley Brydon, Scotland Group
  • Rachel Burgoyne, Northern Ireland Group
  • Nicola Brown, Greater London Group
  • Deb Sharratt, North East Group

From the Open List (elected unopposed):

  • Shirley Collyer
  • David Hamilton
  • Claire Melia-Tompkins
  • Naj Modak
  • Dominic Ridley-Moy
  • Naomi Smith

Visit the CIPR Election page for further information.

Rachel Roberts Chart.PR, MCIPR, President-Elect for 2021
Thank you to everyone who has participated in the CIPR Election process this year, by voting, contributing and listening to the debate, those who have actively supported candidates and for all those who stood in contention. Specifically, I wish to thank my wonderful supporter team and also Peter Holt for standing as a candidate for President-Elect which has enabled an important period of debate, the contributions from which help to strengthen the CIPR and ultimately enable members to be served better.

Recognising the election adds additional complexity to operations, at an already challenging time, and I wish to thank the Returning Officer Martin Turner, CIPR Chief Executive Alastair McCapra, CIPR staff and CIPR President Jenni Field and President-Elect Mandy Pearse, for their continued hard work. I look forward to being able to support them to continue to serve CIPR members, as well as delivering on the opportunities highlighted during the election process to build further benefits of CIPR membership.
Rachel Roberts Chart.PR, MCIPR, President-Elect for 2021
CIPR President, Jenni Field Chart.PR, FCIPR
It has been great to see two candidates stand for the role of President in 2022. Congratulations to Rachel for being elected. Her message of empowerment clearly resonated with members and it is great to see the continued efforts of recent years carried forward.
CIPR President, Jenni Field Chart.PR, FCIPR

The President-Elect serves a three-year term of office on the Board of Directors, beginning on 1 January 2021 and ending on 31 December 2023. The candidate elected will serve first as President-Elect, supporting the 2021 President, Mandy Pearse Chart.PR, FCIPR. After assuming the Presidency for a year in 2022, they will serve a final year as Immediate Past President, once again taking a supporting role before ending their term.


About the Chartered Institute of Public Relations

Founded in 1948, the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR) is the world's only Royal Chartered professional body for public relations practitioners with nearly 10,000 members.

The CIPR advances professionalism in public relations by making its members accountable to their employers and the public through a code of conduct and searchable public register, setting standards through training, qualifications, awards and the production of best practice and skills guidance, facilitating Continuing Professional Development (CPD), and awarding Chartered Public Relations Practitioner status (Chart.PR).