Expert judging line-up announced for 32nd CIPR Excellence Awards

The 2016 CIPR Excellence Awards – public relations’ most established celebration of creativity and professionalism  has announced a line-up of more than 90 expert judges, which will once again be chaired by Sandra Macleod and Paul Mylrea.

With only 5 days left for public relations individuals and teams to enter this year's awards (deadline at 6pm on Tuesday 1 March), the judging line-up features approximately 60 of the most experienced CIPR members from across the agency, public, not-for-profit and private sector divide, who review each entry and select the shortlist for each of the 29 categories.

At the final stage of judging, all shortlisted entrants are invited to attend panel interviews at CIPR HQ in London. At this stage, the CIPR member judges are joined by another 29 professionals from associated disciplines. Together, these expert panels select the category award winners.

This year, external judges include senior leaders from organisations including Media Trust, Institute of Fundraising, Professional Publishers Association, Chartered Institute of Marketing, Institute of Directors and the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development.

Paul Mylrea Found.Chart.PR FCIPR, Past CIPR President and Director of Communications at the University of Cambridge
Without doubt the CIPR Excellence Awards are the most rigorous and prestigious awards in public relations, setting standards for practice not just in the UK, but across Europe and beyond.

Last year, the entire judging team were hugely impressed with the standard and global scope of entries we received. This year, we look forward to seeing how strategic thinking, creative excellence, and outstanding execution in our industry have continued to develop and evolve. Good luck to all of our entrants.
Paul Mylrea Found.Chart.PR FCIPR, Past CIPR President and Director of Communications at the University of Cambridge

CIPR members to judge this year's awards:

  • Penny Anderson MCIPR
  • Lis Anderson FCIPR
  • Sally Aston MCIPR
  • Sarah Atkinson MCIPR
  • Andrew Bartlett MCIPR
  • Louisa Bartoszek MCIPR
  • Simon Butt-Bethlendy MCIPR
  • Caroline Cecil FCIPR
  • Will Chignell MCIPR
  • Dominic Cockram MCIPR
  • Rob Colmer FCIPR
  • Ryan Curtis-Johnson MCIPR
  • Maud Davis FCIPR
  • Philip Dewhurst FCIPR
  • Charlotte Dimond MCIPR
  • Jenni Field MCIPR
  • Lorraine Forrest-Turner MCIPR
  • Claire Foster MCIPR
  • Fabienne Garceau MCIPR
  • Dan Gerrella MCIPR
  • Anne Grenyer MCIPR
  • Sarah Hall Chart.PR FCIPR
  • David Hamilton FCIPR
  • Andrea Jones MCIPR
  • Valentina Kristensen MCIPR
  • Gabrielle Laine-Peters MCIPR
  • Sarah Leaman MCIPR
  • Emma Leech Found.Chart.PR FCIPR
  • Jason MacKenzie Found.Chart.PR FCIPR
  • Linda Mackenzie MBE Chart.PR MCIPR
  • Sandra Macleod FCIPR (Co-chair of Judges)
  • Eva Maclaine Found.Chart.PR FCIPR
  • Dee McIntosh MCIPR
  • Nicola Miller MCIPR
  • Paul Mylrea Found.Chart.PR FCIPR (Co-chair of Judges)
  • Robert Okunnu MCIPR
  • Clare Parker Found.Chart.PR MCIPR
  • Adam Parker MCIPR
  • Kerry Parkin MCIPR
  • Mandy Pearse MCIPR
  • Sylvie Pender MCIPR
  • Adrian Penrose FCIPR
  • Gemma Pettman MCIPR
  • Sarah Pinch Chart.PR FCIPR, CIPR Past President
  • Jane Revell MCIPR
  • Linda Rolf Found.Chart.PR MCIPR
  • Charlotte Sansom MCIPR
  • Katie Scott-Kurti MCIPR
  • Anna Scott-Marshall MCIPR
  • Juliet Simpson MCIPR
  • Sally Sykes Found.Chart.PR FCIPR
  • Kevin Taylor FCIPR
  • Maria Tennant MCIPR
  • Simon Thompson FCIPR
  • Alison Tobin MCIPR
  • Adam Tuckwell MCIPR
  • Edward Venning MCIPR
  • Geraldine Vesey MCIPR
  • Stephen Waddington Found.Chart.PR Hon FCIPR
  • Jane Wilson Hon FCIPR
  • Rob Yeldham Found.Chart.PR MCIPR

Joining the judging line-up at the panel interview stage will be the following experts from associated professional disciplines:

  • Michael Ambjorn, International Association of Business Communicators (IABC)
  • Amanda Arrowsmith, Caledonian MacBrayne
  • David Bowden, Institute of Ideas
  • Kev BrearGrant Thornton
  • Aisling Burnand MBE, Association of Medical Research Charities (AMRC)
  • Robin CarlisleMobile Promotions Group
  • Jim Chaudry, RAC
  • Caroline Diehl MBE, Media Trust
  • Kate Fairhurst, Kontenthaus
  • Anne Godfrey, Chartered Institute of Environmental Health (CIEH)
  • Edwina Goldman, JFL Search and Selection
  • Stephen Howard LVO, Business in the Community
  • George Ioannou, Wipro Digital
  • Julia KermodeFreelancer and Contractor Services Association (FCSA)
  • James Leavesley, CrowdControlHQ
  • Peter Lewis, Institute of Fundraising
  • Stephen Lotinga, Publishers Association
  • Philip Lynch, Media and Reputation Insights Consultant
  • Barry McIlheney, Professional Publishers Association
  • Rajay Naik, Keypath Education
  • Adrian Oldknow, Centre for Innovation in Technological Education (CCITE)
  • Guy Parker, Advertising Standards Authority
  • Alex Petrogiannis, Doddle
  • Robert Smyth, Institute of Directors (IoD)
  • Andrew Thomas, Communicate Magazine
  • Sue Upton, Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD)
  • Gemma Williams, EY
  • Simon WrightUKTV
  • Jenny Zaremba, Chartered Institute of Marketing (CIM)
Notes to editors

Notes to editors

About the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR)Founded in 1948, the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR) is the Royal Chartered professional body for public relations practitioners in the UK and overseas. The CIPR is the largest membership organisation for PR practitioners outside of North America. By size of turnover and number of individually registered members, we are the leading representative body for the PR profession and industry in Europe.

The CIPR advances professionalism in public relations by making its members accountable to their employers and the public through a code of conduct and searchable public register, setting standards through training, qualifications, awards and the production of best practice and skills guidance, facilitating Continuing Professional Development (CPD), and awarding Chartered Public Relations Practitioner status (Chart.PR).