Iain Anderson wins the second annual Douglas Smith Award for Public Affairs

On Wednesday 3 December, during the CIPR Public Affairs Group Christmas Party, Iain Anderson FCIPR, Executive Chairman of Cicero Group, was awarded the Douglas Smith Lifetime Achievement Award for Public Affairs.

The Award is named in honour of the late Douglas Smith who founded the Government Affairs Group in 1987 which subsequently joined the CIPR as the Public Affairs Group. The award recognises an individual who has made a great contribution to public affairs throughout their career.

CIPR PA Chair, Paul Beckford MCIPR
It is an honour to present this award to Iain who is one of the strongest advocates of the lobbying industry. Iain has featured prominently on TV, radio and the print media promoting the importance of transparency and professional standards. As Chair of the Association of Professional Political Consultants (APPC), Iain has consistently made the case to Government on the need for universality regarding the statutory register of lobbyists.

​A Fellow of the CIPR and a former Chair of the Public Affairs Group, Iain has an outstanding track record of supporting and developing young professionals in the public affairs industry and is a thoroughly deserving winner of the Douglas Smith Award. We are fortunate to have such a passionate individual who is prepared to articulate the vital role lobbying plays in the democratic process.
CIPR PA Chair, Paul Beckford MCIPR
Iain Anderson FCIPR, Executive Chairman, Cicero Group
I am thrilled and honoured to receive this. Douglas was a true professional who helped found our sector. It is a delight to bear an award in his name.
Iain Anderson FCIPR, Executive Chairman, Cicero Group