Lord McNally and Lord Clement-Jones honoured at Fellows' Lunch

Lord McNally and Lord Clement-Jones have been awarded Honorary Fellowships of the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR) for their outstanding contribution to public relations at the Institute's annual Fellows' Lunch.

The pair
received the CIPR's highest honour in front of more than a hundred Fellows at the House of Lords. Attendees enjoyed drinks on the Houses of Parliament's Cholmondeley Terrace before a keynote speech from House of Cards creator, Lord Dobbs.

A former public affairs professional, Lord McNally was leader of the Liberal Democrats in the House of Lords between 2004 and 2013. 

Lord McNally Hon FCIPR
I am deeply honoured to be made a CIPR Honorary Fellow. The CIPR has been in the vanguard of promoting the highest professional standards in public relations and public affairs and I am happy to be associated with its work by accepting this Honorary Fellowship.
Lord McNally Hon FCIPR

Lord Clement Jones, who was awarded a CBE in 1988, is currently the Liberal Democrat's spokesman on the Creative Industries. 

Lord Clement-Jones Hon FCIPR
I'm delighted and privileged to be among such select company.
Lord Clement-Jones Hon FCIPR

CIPR President Jason MacKenzie Found.Chart.PR also presented Fellowship honours to the following members, who were awarded CIPR Fellowships in June

  • Nicola Bothwell Chart.PR, FCIPR
  • Andrew Cooper Chart.PR, FCIPR
  • Donald Steel FCIPR
  • Wendy Moran FCIPR, Dip CIPR
  • Steve Shepperson-Smith Chart.PR, FCIPR Dip CIPR.


Notes to editors

About CIPR Honorary Fellowship
Honorary Fellowships are awarded to public relations practitioners for outstanding contributions to the CIPR or to the public relations profession as a whole. Previous recipients include Professor Mervyn King Hon FCIPR and Lord Chadlington Hon FCIPR. Honorary Fellows are granted lifetime complimentary membership and are entitled to use the designation Hon FCIPR. 

About CIPR Fellowship
The CIPR consider nominations and grant awards twice-yearly in recognition of distinction in the public relations profession as defined by our Council. The unanimous decision of the Fellowship Nomination Committee is required for approval of the nominee's application. For further information on how members are nominated for Fellowship, please visit the website.