Winners of the 2016 CIPR Education Journalism Awards

Awards for the most talented journalists specialising in education and skills were presented last week at a prestigious ceremony at the Shard, organised by the CIPR Education and Skills Group.

The twelfth annual Education Journalism Awards brought together journalists, education communications professionals and leading figures from across the education sector. The winner of the most prestigious award - the 2016 Ted Wragg Award for Outstanding Contribution to Education Journalism - was former Daily Telegraph education correspondent John Izbicki.

The awards ceremony was preceded by an address from Wes Streeting, Labour MP for Ilford North, a member of the Higher Education and Research Bill committee and former President of the National Union of Students.

Wes spoke of the importance of recognising “emerging talent at a time when journalism is under pressure” and the role that journalists play in “shining a spotlight” on the stories that need to be told when politicians fail. He referred to the “transformative power of education”, saying “One of the reasons why I have always been passionate about education is that it is the greatest social leveller available in the toolkit of government to tackle dramatic inequality in society … It is the best economic policy there is.”


Andy Lockett, Dean of Warwick Business School
It was a real pleasure and a great honour for WBS to sponsor and host the CIPR Education Journalism Awards. Journalists are central to the functioning of business and politics, working tirelessly to uncover hidden truths, ask difficult questions and assure authorities, institutions and establishments are all held to account. Therefore, I would like to thank all the winners and runners-up for their endeavours, and I hope their work will stimulate more young journalists to seek the highest standards of their profession as displayed here.
Andy Lockett, Dean of Warwick Business School
Simon Butt-Bethlendy, CIPR Education & Skills Group Chair
This year’s competition attracted more entries than ever, and a hotly contested new category – the Award for Editorial Excellence. The range and quality of entries was as great if not greater than previous years, which made the judging process enthralling and demanding in equal measure.

We were also delighted to present the Ted Wragg Award to John Izbicki in recognition of the tremendous work he has done throughout his career reporting on and championing education. It was a privilege to have him with us for the evening.
Simon Butt-Bethlendy, CIPR Education & Skills Group Chair

Full award winners from the2016 Education and Journalism Awards

  • Most Promising Newcomer to Education Journalism, Sponsored by City, University of London
    • Winner: David Morris Wonkhe
    • Runner up: Carly Minsky, Times Higher Education
  • Outstanding Schools Journalism, Sponsored by London Grid for Learning
    • Winner: Christine Alsford, ITV Meridian
    • Runner up: Louise Tickle, The Guardian (freelancer):
  • Outstanding Further and Vocational Education Journalism, Sponsored by AAT (Association of Accounting Technicians)
    • Winner: Paul Offord, FE Week
    • Runner up: Alix Robertson, FE Week
  • Outstanding Higher Education Journalism, Sponsored by IDP Education (UK)
    • Winner: Helen Warrell, Financial Times
    • Runner up: John Elmes, Times Higher Education
    • Runner up: John Morgan, Times Higher Education
  • Outstanding Use of Data in Education Commentary, Sponsored by Cardiff University
    • Winner: Jack Grove, Times Higher Education
    • Runner up: Chris Havergal, Times Higher Education
  • Outstanding Business Education Journalism, Sponsored by the Chartered Institute of Public Relations
    • Winner: Jonathan Moules, Financial Times
    • Runner up: Natalie Marsh, The PIE News
  • The Award for Editorial Excellence (NEW category this year), Sponsored by Kingston University
    • Winner: Alice Woolley, The Guardian
    • Runner up: Simon Baker, Times Higher Education
  • Outstanding Regional Education Journalism, Sponsored by the CIPR Education & Skills group
    • Winner: Stephen Magee, BBC Scotland
    • Runner up: Christine Alsford, ITV Meridian
  • Outstanding National Education Journalism, Sponsored by Loughborough University
    • Winner: John Dickens, Schools Week
    • Runner up: Jon Severs, Times Educational Supplement
  • The Ted Wragg Award for Outstanding Contribution to Education Journalism, Sponsored by The Ted Wragg Multi-Academy Trust and the University of Exeter
    • Winner: John Izbicki, freelance journalist and former Daily Telegraph education correspondent.
Notes to editors

Notes to editors

About the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR)Founded in 1948, the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR) is the Royal Chartered professional body for public relations practitioners in the UK and overseas. The CIPR is the largest membership organisation for PR practitioners outside of North America. By size of turnover and number of individually registered members, we are the leading representative body for the PR profession and industry in Europe.

The CIPR advances professionalism in public relations by making its members accountable to their employers and the public through a code of conduct and searchable public register, setting standards through training, qualifications, awards and the production of best practice and skills guidance, facilitating Continuing Professional Development (CPD), and awarding Chartered Public Relations Practitioner status (Chart.PR).