Two-way contest in race for 2014 CIPR President

Stephen Waddington MCIPR and Jon White FCIPR have been confirmed as the two candidates in the running for the 2014 CIPR presidency, after the deadline for nominations passed at midnight last night.

Canvassing is already underway, with online voting opening on Tuesday 7 May, when CIPR members will receive voting instructions by email and paper ballots will be dispatched. Voting closes at noon on Tuesday 21 May and results will be published on the CIPR website shortly afterward.

Both candidate statements can be found on the CIPR website under CIPR elections 2013.

The contest for 2014 CIPR President is a fresh election requested by CIPR Council in November 2012, following questions about the validity of the result of the ballot held that year. The fresh election will return a President-Elect for 2013, who will take office as President from 1 January 2014.

Notes to editors

Notes to editors

About the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR)Founded in 1948, the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR) is the Royal Chartered professional body for public relations practitioners in the UK and overseas. The CIPR is the largest membership organisation for PR practitioners outside of North America. By size of turnover and number of individually registered members, we are the leading representative body for the PR profession and industry in Europe.

The CIPR advances professionalism in public relations by making its members accountable to their employers and the public through a code of conduct and searchable public register, setting standards through training, qualifications, awards and the production of best practice and skills guidance, facilitating Continuing Professional Development (CPD), and awarding Chartered Public Relations Practitioner status (Chart.PR).